The Dawning of a New Decade

I realized that today is not only the last Sunday of the year, but also the last Sunday of this decade.  How quickly ten years have passed.  When the decade began we were worrying about Y2K and celebrating the beginning of a new millennium.  My boys were four and two and we had not yet been attacked by terrorists on American soil.  Today my guys are fourteen and twelve and we are praising God that a terrorist was not successful in blowing up a plane over Detroit on Christmas day.  My views on my own vulnerability have certainly changed over the years and yet my faith in the God who sovereignly controls this world has not.

I have to confess at this point that I love sunrises and have ever since I grew up in the Caribbean and got to see the sun come up at the Crane beach in Barbados.  It seems that as I have grown older, I have begun to appreciate the dawning of a new day more and more.  As I begin this new decade, it is very tempting to spend my time analyzing the last ten years and wishing that I could have done certain things differently or relishing those moments of triumph that may never return again.  Instead, I am choosing to see this Friday, January 1, 2010 as the dawning of a new decade of potential in my own life.

The amazing thing about a sunrise picture is that it can look an awful lot like a sunset picture.  It all depends on your perspective and whether you were there when the picture was taken. Too many people that I know live life as if every event is a potential sunset rather than seeing the challenges they face as simply the darkness before the dawn.  As I think about this next decade I am as excited as I have ever been about what God is doing in our world despite all the issues that seem to stand in the way of the advance of His kingdom.

Why

1.  The sun is rising on new relationships that God has already sovereignly ordained for me to be involved in.

2.  The sun is rising on new partnerships for CLC’s ministry growth and advancement.

3.  The sun is rising on great new books that will be written and published by CLC in this next decade.

4.  The sun is rising on new communities around the globe that will be impacted by a new CLC bookstore that will open and provide Christian resources they desperately need.

5.  The sun is rising on dozens of  people who will make themselves available for service as missionaries with CLC in the next ten years.

6.  The sun is rising on new opportunities for communication and connection through the internet and whatever digital technologies are in our future.

7.  The sun is rising on God’s people who are being given one more chance each day to humble themselves and become a part of the worldwide revival that He longs to see take place in our lifetime.

In ten years, my boys will be 22 and 24 and I will have passed the big 50 threshold.  Who knows what will have actually happened in the world or in my ministry.  What I do know is that I serve a God who is the same yesterday, today and forever.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Dawning of a New Decade

  1. Dave,
    I absolutely love the imagery. And, you are absolutely on point. I am sometimes guilty of seeing the sunset instead of the sunrise. And, I am more committed than ever to pursue my purpose over the next decade.

  2. Marge Almack

    Thank you Lord for a son who sees the glass half full instead of half empty and for a son who has full confidence in the Son. Love you so much, Mom

Leave a Reply

